top of page

Interview #3

Interviewee:

Dr. Alexander Glogau, Orthopedic Surgeon

Business Name:

OrthoTexas

Date and Time:

October 15th, 2015 at 12:00 PM

Analysis:

Dr. Alexander Glogau is a board certified orthopedic surgeon at OrthoTexas in Plano and Frisco. A majority of his schooling took place in New York, as he attended the State University of New York as well as John Hopkins University. He specializes in surgery for the hip, knee, and shoulder. He is also a professor in physician assistant studies at UT Southwestern. The aspect of Dr. Glogau’s resume so to speak that appealed to me the most was that he is the currently the team physician for three major local basketball programs: the Texas Legends, Plano Senior high school, and John Paul high school.

Heading into the interview, I noticed a number of different memorabilia from different sports teams in the OrthoTexas office, and it was interesting to see the diversity in the patients they treated. The jerseys of some big name teams were also on display. OrthoTexas is an organization with a large number of different professionals specializing in Sports Medicine, and is definitely a company I see myself interacting with as I continue my research interviews. As for the interview itself, Dr. Glogau was able to provide me beneficial information about the schooling required to be an orthopedic surgeon. One of my fears in my field is that I will change my mind while going through the medical school that lies ahead of me. I am not as worried about the amount of work that I will do while in school, rather I do not want to waste money and time taking classes that I do not and will not need. Dr. Glogau told me that as long as I stay focused on my final goals and keep in mind the reasons I got into Sports Medicine in the first place, then I will never falter.

However, I recognized off the bat that Dr. Glogau was extremely busy and much needed in his office: throughout the interview, two or three people stopped by to ask him questions and he also had to take some phone calls. However, he still gave me the attention necessary to answer my questions, and I could see the passion that he had for orthopedic surgery. He was very knowledgable, and mentioned a number of different topics that I am interested in doing research assessments on in the future, including proprioception and the athlete-doctor relationship in treatment of injuries. I hope that when I am at the same stage in my career, and as I make my way up from the bottom, my passion for Sports Medicine will not waver and I will continue to be enthusiastic and wholeheartedly interested. The moment I am not treating my patients with the care and attention they need, I know that it will be time to rekindle my primary interest in my field. Even though I have plenty of school left ahead of me, I have big dreams for down the road and hope that I will be able to improve the Sports Medicine field.

Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.

Contact Me

 

  • Google+ Long Shadow
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • LinkedIn Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow

© 2023 by Phil Steer . Proudly created with Wix.com

Success! Message received.

bottom of page