top of page

Getting Down to Business (Symposium)


In seemingly no time at all, our ISM business symposium has came and gone. Without a doubt it was one of the more nerve-wracking experiences in the program this year, yet at the same time was beneficial and enjoyable. My interviews as a whole were informative as the professionals gave me great advice about college and my future, and the networking period was simply another way for me to solidify my bond with others in ISM.

At the start of symposium, I found myself feeling like a deer in headlights, as I was simply one of a hundred other students trying to network with professionals and get their attention. However, as the awkwardness wore off and I began to feel more comfortable, I found it easier and easier to talk to both other ISMers and experts. As a whole, this morning session was a great way to improve my public speaking and people skills.

The second part of the day was the most challenging, and getting interviewed by the first three people I made eye contact with was certainly an interesting experience. I ended up spending time with a realtor, a retired salesman, and a shady investment guy who I'm still uncertain about with regards to his actual career. Anyhow, even though the three professionals that interviewed me were each radically different, each had a practical piece of advice to share with me, and each were amiable people (yes, even you, shady investment guy. Let's get coffee sometime.)

The most fun part of the day was honestly just kicking back and having lunch with all of the ISM students after symposium. Personally, I feel like simply having lunch with each other made us bond more than any other teambuilding exercise could have. Although I may have been duped by the arcade machines, without a doubt symposium will be an unforgettable ISM experience for me.

Throughout this next week, my goal is to get closer and closer to establishing a mentor. Although I already have an idea of who I want to ask, it's always better to expand your options than to limit yourself. NBA preseason is now in full swing, and I pray that I remain focused on ISM amidst talk of what is potentially the best upcoming NBA season yet in the past few years.

Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.

Contact Me

 

  • Google+ Long Shadow
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • LinkedIn Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow

© 2023 by Phil Steer . Proudly created with Wix.com

Success! Message received.

bottom of page